A Sunflower in Progress


I’ve started another tissue paper collage.  I’m hoping that it turns out looking like a sunflower.

First, I drew the flower shape lightly in pencil, then I started laying in the background.

I used a craft stick (or a toothpick) to push the wet tissue into the nooks and crannies and to clean up the edges.

After the background was done, I started working on the petals. I didn’t worry too much about the yellow straying into the center, since that will be covered with blacks and browns.  Since tissue paper is so transparent, the yellow underneath will actually help add depth to the center.

I’ll keep posting the progress, but it may be a while.  I only play with tissue art when I’m in the mood and have time for it. These two things only occasionally coincide.

Comments are closed.

