Blogging Break


I had to set this blog aside for a while to accommodate a frenzied week of writing, outlining and world building. I also needed a few days to nurse my bruised ego over another story rejection. Yes, I know writers are supposed to just buck up and get over it, but sometimes I just need to throw myself a little pity party.

Once I got over that, the ideas really started flowing. I have nearly filled an entire notebook with  story fragments, character sketches and creature development. I have even begun to sketch out a map and am even working on a cosmology for my yet-unnamed world.

Since my attention span seems only sufficient enough for me to write short stories (before I lose interest and move on to something new) I’ve decided it would be best if I work with my limitations. I’m imagining a series of loosely connected short stories set in a particular fantasy world. In some instances I imagine the connection will be quite loose indeed, with perhaps only a reference or two to what has come before.

I haven’t been this excited about a project for a long while. With so many elements to think about at once, I hope the flitting around I do from one idea to the next will actually help make the world, and the stories I create in it, richer.

Now it’s back to my note book. I just had an idea. 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. compostingalife
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 19:20:29

    have you considered NaNo…it’s next month…i did it last year and really benefitted from it…i’m doing it again this year

    • lorettacasteen
      Oct 05, 2010 @ 20:43:37

      Good for you! There’s another writer, Catana, who has posted here a few times who is doing it too. Write on, you guys!
      I’ve thought about it, but knowing me the way I do I probably shouldn’t try it. This is going to sound odd, but here goes. You see, every time I try to set daily word-counts or writing tasks or anything like that, I tend to rebel. (Against myself? Yes. Weird huh?) It’s like I’m not going to let me push me around and tell me how much or when to write. LOL

