Changing Tone


Busy and busier is a great way to describe the last few weeks.

I did manage to squeeze in some writing time, but hit a snag in one of my stories. What I thought was going to be another light, humorous story took a more serious turn midway. Now the beginning and middle don’t match and I’m not sure which way to proceed. What I should do is just keep going and then sort out tone and mood in the rewrite, but I doubt if my obsessive, nit-picky nature will allow it. In the mean time, I’ve decided on a name for the planet and the kingdom where my story takes place, as well as some other details that may or may not make it into the finished product.

While I haven’t had a lot of time for writing, I’m never too busy to read. I just began Terry Pratchett’s The Light Fantastic . It is the second book of the Disc World series. I’ve made it a goal of mine to read the entire series. If you have never read Pratchett, you’re missing a treat.
Here’s a link to his official website: Terry Pratchett

And I’ll just leave one of his quotes right here:
It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone’s fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I’m one of Us. I must be. I’ve certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We’re always one of Us. It’s Them that do the bad things. Terry Pratchett, Jingo

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catana
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 12:35:59

    Great quote! I’ve never read anything by Terry Pratchett. I think I tried one of his books once, a long time ago, and it wasn’t my kind of thing.

    • lorettacasteen
      Nov 09, 2010 @ 13:50:19

      I started with his book, Guards! Guards! and that one made me laugh out loud. His books are so irreverent and hilarious. I love British humor. I tend to switch back and forth from “light” to “serious” reading. I just finished Edith Wharton’s The Age of Innocence and decided it was time for a Pratchett treat. 🙂 Next up is Lady Chatterly’s Lover.

  2. Catana
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 14:04:10

    You’d definitely need something light after Edith Wharton. I was going to reread Lady Chatterley a while back. Thought I had a copy and it turned out I didn’t. Still haven’t gotten around to getting one. Too many books. Too little time.

  3. lorettacasteen
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 14:35:18

    Too many books, too little time–you nailed it! Lady Chatterly is one of those books it feels like I SHOULD have already read, but haven’t. Hmmm, maybe that’s an idea for a future blog post…

  4. Catana
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 14:44:22

    You may find it a bit old-fashioned and slow, but if you like Wharton, you probably won’t mind that.

    Hmmm. This is getting me in the mood for a D. H. Lawrence reading binge. Haven’t read anything of his in years.

  5. Catana
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 15:01:18

    Aah! You’re a bad influence. I just downloaded Lady Chatterley’s Lover and Sons and Lovers. They’re both in the public domain. I love not having to wait for a book order to be filled.

    You live in an old pecan grove! That’s fabulous. The last house my husband and I owned in Florida had two huge pecan trees. They’re not only my favorite nut, they brought in a bit of cash too, selling them to the local wholesaler. I really miss having all the pecans I can eat.

    • lorettacasteen
      Nov 09, 2010 @ 16:49:03

      LOL–I hear that a lot. 🙂 It’s so cool that you found it online! I got mine at a book bazaar for fifty cents. I love old fashioned books. Being an English Major in college equaled four and half years of bliss for me (not counting the science and math requirements). As long as I never have to crack any of Virginia Woolf’s or James Joyce’s books again, I’ll be a happy reader the rest of my life. 🙂

  6. Catana
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 17:05:42

    Woolf was interesting, but not really to my taste. I loved Joyce’s shorter works, but Finnegan’s Wake or Ulysses? No way. I never finished college, but my husband was an English major, so my literary education expanded quite a bit. Learned to read Beowulf and Chaucer with the proper pronounciations. Really useful stuff. But I did actually like Chaucer.

  7. lorettacasteen
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 17:27:21

    The most enjoyable course I took in college was the Chaucer class. The professor was just fantastic. Loved her; loved the class; loved the stories. It was in this class that I learned what a rip-off artist Shakespeare was!
    Oh, and the pecan grove. Where we live really is just a suburban subdivision. But it used to be a commercial pecan grove. When the houses were built it was on the condition that each lot have at least two pecan trees remaining. They’re everywhere and huge, huge. Some are 20 to 30 feet tall or more. There are so many pecans in the Fall people cannot even give them away. LOL

