Black Bean Soup Recipe


Whenever I hit upon a recipe that my family goes crazy over, I always want to share it. This is one of those recipes. I love going to recipe sites, but usually don’t follow just one recipe. I take what sounds good from several recipes and combine or omit ingredients, depending on what I have on hand.
This recipe is quick and easy and tastes great!

Vegan Black Bean Soup

Two 14.5 oz cans organic black beans, undrained

One 14.5 oz. can organic black bean soup

One 14.5 oz. can vegetable broth

One 14.5 oz. can diced tomatoes

2 cups shredded carrots

1 cup baby bella mushrooms, sliced

2 cups frozen whole kernel corn (drained, if using canned)

1/4 cup diced onion

2 Tbsp. minced garlic

1/4 cup diced red bell pepper

1 Tbsp. olive oil

2 -3 Tbsp.  cooking sherry (optional)

1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce (optional)

In a large soup or stock pot, saute onion, garlic, peppers, carrots and mushrooms in olive oil over medium heat until softened. Add canned beans, soup, tomatoes, corn and vegetable broth. Add sherry and Worcestershire sauce to taste.  Heat to boiling, reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes. Serve over cooked rice.

Top individual servings with chopped jalapeno peppers,  hot sauce, salsa or sour cream if desired.

How easy is that? If shredding carrots sounds like a pain, buy a package of pre-shredded carrots. That’s what I used. 🙂

This makes a large amount of soup and would probably serve 6 to 8 adults easily.

If you try it, let me know what you think of the recipe!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lauri
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 12:15:38

    I think it sounds good but I would have to add some meat to make John happy. But I really don’t think he would like it. He doesn’t like my taco soup which is wonderful with fritos .

  2. lorettacasteen
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 14:40:00

    Oh, I love taco soup! Funny you should mention adding meat to this recipe,though. Jeremy and Trish came over yesterday and I had them try it. They both went back for seconds, btw. We all agreed that the soup would be really good with some smoked sausage added. I’d just saute sliced sausage along with the other veggies and omit the olive oil. Then dump in the other stuff. You think he might go for it then? Jeremy said that he really liked it, because it was good and “different.”

