Sunflower Collage


Well, perhaps this piece isn’t quite “ready for prime-time,” but I”m done with it.  It is time to work on something else.

I find creating art so wonderfully relaxing and it’s a great way to spend time with my daughter.  She is supervised while splashing paint around or using her markers and I get to satisfy my inexplicable urge to glue stuff to other stuff.

And if my Gimp2 skills were ever in doubt, you can see how I couldn’t even figure how to crop the scan. 🙂

This piece is like my others, tissue paper over canvas board.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catana
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 11:12:39

    Maybe not ready for prime-time, but still very nice. I love sunflowers. And your post reminds me that I’ve been having yearnings to get back to making fibre jewelry. My hands don’t appreciate it, but I’m beginning to feel that I’m living too much in my head. Will have to give it some serious thought and maybe get myself inspired enough to do something after NaNo.

  2. lorettacasteen
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 11:31:14

    Thanks, Catana. I’ve found that when I’m really stuck with my writing art helps me at least stop obsessing over it. Often, after I put my art things away an answer to a writing problem will just pop in my head. It’s as if my subconscious is busily un-knotting a plot point while I’m doing something else.
    Fibre jewelry sounds lovely!

  3. Catana
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 11:42:57

    I used to enjoy making fibre jewelry. Unfortunately, my skill in that area never matches what’s in my head. But, yes, it’s sometimes a different path to creativity in another area. I’ve been thinking about getting some of my craft books out and just letting my mind play for a while.

  4. Sibel Catana
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 12:32:08

    I love it! I am a big fan of sunflowers and Van Gogh of course.
    When do I get to see what your daughter has been creating? 🙂

  5. lorettacasteen
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 21:22:25

    It’s funny you should say that. I was going through some photos today and found a few of her doing art. I’ll have to put some up!

