Withdraw and Resubmit


Yesterday felt like a productive day. I smashed through my self-imposed word-count goal. It is still embarrassingly low, so I won’t post it here.

I also put together another submission packet and sent out my story “Damsel Apostate” again.

“Damsel Apostate” had been submitted to a publication, but after seven months of waiting for either an acceptance or rejection, I decided to withdraw the story from consideration.

I knew before submitting that that particular publication was known for having long response-times, but seven months, it seems, is the limit of my patience. I felt it was time to get the story into other hands.

Now the wait has begun again, but the new publication lists their response time as less than six weeks. I have more than enough patience to wait that long.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catana
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 09:48:12

    Seven months! You aren’t just patient; you’re a sucker for punishment. That publisher is a perfect example of why I will be self-publishing. Is there any other industry where you would be required to wait for months for a reply? Writers have put up with entirely too much of that crap for years, and now publishers take it as their right.

    • lorettacasteen
      Dec 14, 2010 @ 10:20:30

      Yeah, I know. LOL I *thought* I knew what I was getting into. Oh, it would have been so great if that publisher would have taken it. They are the SF/F part of one of the big boys–great money, lots of “writerly cred,” but I just couldn’t wait any more. I’m sticking with traditional publishing for now though, because, frankly, I want to get paid. 🙂 Self-publishing may yet be on the horizon, though.

  2. Catana
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 10:39:55

    There’s no reason you can’t do both — traditional and self-publish. A lot of self-publishers are making money, some of them very good money, but it does take more work than if a publisher handles it. Still, it’s a good idea to avoid the publishers with a rep for being slow, and to set reasonable deadlines for how long you’ll wait.

    • lorettacasteen
      Dec 14, 2010 @ 19:30:08

      Exactly. Especially since I don’t have many finished stories to shop around. Lesson learned. Unless the guidelines state a specific response time, I won’t be submitting to that publication.

  3. Catana
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 20:00:48

    Good for you. Your comment make me think about how much more complicated writing is than just getting words down on paper — or on the computer screen. Peace be unto those who believe that *anybody* can write, but it’s a long process that never really ends. And then, if we want to be published, we have to learn all the ins and outs, tricks and traps of the publishing business. But it’s worth it!

  4. lorettacasteen
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 21:46:22

    Very true. Writers have to be so careful to make sure they are dealing with legitimate publishers and not scam artists. Maybe I’ll put up some links to writer’s watch-dog groups like Predators and Editors.

