Back To Work


It is time to get back on track. December derails most of my writing every year. Both of my children’s birthdays are in December—enough said.

I have to say as crazy as December can get, at least I get a good portion of our family celebrations out of the way in one month.

I did do a few things pertaining to writing in December. I submitted my short story “Damsel  Apostate” to a magazine and got a very prompt rejection.  I was so busy this rejection barely registered as a blip of disappointment before I quickly sent the story back out.  “Damsel” is a good story that is bound to find a home somewhere. I still have a list of publications that will get a shot at it, if it gets rejected again.

 My Christmas gift from my husband was a laptop. For the first time in quite a while I have a computer all to myself. Our four-year-old daughter has essentially taken over the desktop computer I was using for writing.

The novelty of the laptop (at least I suspect that’s what it is) has created an explosion of writing. I’m churning out pages at a faster rate than ever before. Being able to move from room to room (and eventually outside and elsewhere) makes me feel I have burst out of the confines of the office. Whatever the reason, the floodgates of creativity feel open and I’m going to take advantage for as long as it lasts.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sibel Catana
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 13:43:29

    Yay at the creativity flood. 🙂
    As writers we have to be able to take rejection and forget about it in a flash of a second. Otherwise, I would’ve given up a thousand times until now.

  2. lorettacasteen
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 14:50:52

    Me too. I’m still writing every day. I don’t remember the last time I’ve done that. It feels good. 🙂 When the kids go back to school (in two days), I hope to get even more done.

