Cajun-spiced Sweet Potato Hash


I spent most of my life thinking I didn’t like sweet potatoes. I’ve never been a fan of sweets and the only way I’d ever seen sweet potatoes served was “candied,” which means  they were so overloaded with brown sugar and maple syrup (or whatever was used) they’d make your teeth stick together. Have you ever tasted something so sweet it was bitter? That’s what I thought sweet potatoes were.

Over the last few months, I’ve learned better. I give credit to Pinterest. First, from “pins” I saw on the site, I tried oven-fried Sweet Potatoes and liked them very much.

Later on, I was on Pinterest looking for side dishes for Thanksgiving and ran across this Cornbread Stuffing with Sweet Potato and Squash recipe. I decided to try it, although as usual, I tweaked the recipe somewhat, including substituting cornbread from scratch for the boxed stuffing. It was very tasty, but pretty labor intensive, so obviously a special- occaision- only dish.

The best part of the recipe was the preparation of the sweet potatoes, butternut squash and apples. It smelled heavenly and I couldn’t resist a few bites. Wow. Fantastic (Essentially the part I’m talking about is the first two steps of the stuffing recipe.)

Since two sweet potatoes, a butternut squash and a Granny Smith apple makes a giant mound of food, I decided to streamline the recipe just using sweet potatoes.

Blog Sweet Potatoes 001Here’s a look the starting ingredients. I call this sweet potato “medium” because some of the ones at the market were huge.  Cooking time on each step is approximate.How finely you chop your sweet potato and other items will determine cooking time.

Cajun Spiced Sweet Potato Hash

1 Medium Sweet Potato, peeled and chopped into 1-inch cubes

1/3 cup Green Bell Pepper, diced

1/3 cup Red Bell Pepper, diced

                                                                       1/4 cup Green onion, bulb and tops, diced

                                                                        1 clove of garlic, minced

                                                                        1/3 cup Canola Oil

                                                                        Cajun Creole Seasoning, to taste

Here's everything all prepped and ready to go!

Here’s everything all prepped and ready to go!

1. Heat oil in a wok or large, heavy skillet. Carefully add sweet potatoes. Stirring frequently, cook 8 to 10 minutes.

1. Heat oil in a wok or large, heavy skillet. Carefully add sweet potatoes. Stirring frequently, cook 8 to 10 minutes.

2. Add peppers and onions. Continue cooking and stirring 3 to 5 minutes.

2. Add peppers and onions. Continue cooking and stirring 3 to 5 minutes.

Just as the potatoes are fork-tender and the pepper and onions cook to translucence, add garlic. Stir and cook 3 to 5 minutes. Add Cajun seasoning to taste. The sweet and the heat combined really makes the dish pop.

Just as the potatoes are fork-tender and the pepper and onions cook to translucence, add garlic. Stir and cook 3 to 5 minutes. Add Cajun seasoning to taste. The sweet and the heat combined really makes the dish pop.

This is a beautiful side dish for three to four people or makes a lovely vegan lunch for two!

This is a beautiful side dish for three to four people or makes a lovely vegan lunch for two!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. itstartedwithaquote
    Dec 04, 2012 @ 14:53:40

    i already like sweet potatoes…but this sounds really good…laura

  2. Lauri
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 09:41:30

    I love sweet potatoes in just about any form except raw. Think I could eat this too!

    • lorettacasteen
      Dec 05, 2012 @ 10:39:40

      Try it, Lauri. It is so good. I think next time I may add Granny Smith apple chunks back to the recipe. Then you’d have sweet, heat and tart. Yum!

